Marymil M. Cabrera
SunStar Weekend Writer
With so many new establishments popping in around the metro, it only proves that Cebu is indeed progressive. Despite the development and modernization, downtown Cebu is still home to historical places, a number of hole-in-the-wall restaurants, and affordable shopping places. Let’s take a stroll down memory lane and find a few of downtown Cebu City’s gems.
Corner Legaspi and Colon Sts.
Formerly known as Teatro Junquera and established in 1895, this theater house was where Cebuanos would enjoy watching stage plays, musical programs, operas, and silent movies. It was also where Cebuanos experienced sound film for the first time during the premier of the musical drama “The Singing Fool,” a part-talkie motion picture of Warner Bros., in March 1930. Now, Cine Oriente continues to keep its tradition of offering the latest movies at a reasonable price.
One Central Hotel
Corner Leon Kilat and Sanciangko Sts.
One Central Hotel, the newest premier business hotel in the city, offers affordable luxury accommodations and a 360-degree panoramic view of the city. It was the location of old Cebu’s Central Train Station and used to house the 70-year-old Luzon Lumber owned by the Yu family. The place was the epicenter of trade and commerce, and a witness to Cebu’s modernization. Since this historical spot is now where a 16-floor hotel is located, it aims to bring back the old glory of the once buzzing economic hub.
Cebu La Fortuna Bakery
A. Borromeo St.
Kneading since 1950, Cebu La Fortuna Bakery offers delightful Chinese hopia, tikoy, masi, ampaw, siopao, fortune cookie, and breads. It was where Cebuanos would catch up with friends or meet up with business partnerts over a cup of coffee and some pastries. Today, Cebu La Fortuna holds a food center that offers lunch and dinner buffet and a hotel beside its famous bakery with a goal of continuing to create a brand especially for Cebu.
Casa Gorordo Museum
No. 35 Lopez Jaena St., Barangay Parian
Built with coral stone blocks, molave hardwood flooring and terra-cotta roof tiles — a typical architectural type during the Spanish colonial period — in the mid-19th century in Parian, Casa Gorordo was where four generations of the Gorordo family resided, including Juan Gorordo, the first native Cebuano bishop. The heritage house was later on purchased by The Ramon Aboitiz Foundation Inc. under its Cultural Heritage Program. After a major renovation and restoration, it was opened as a public museum showcasing mid-19th and early 20th century Philippine culture and lifestyle. One can be amazed with the antique furniture, painting and religious images, period costumes, household items, decorative art, kitchenwares, and farming tools displayed at the museum.